Why we need to address perceptions around perinatal anxiety and depression

A must read article published by Emma Brancatisano in the Huffington Post Australia. 

The confusions and perceptions surrounding perinatal anxiety and depression are preventing new and expecting mums from seeking help.

“I’m looking down at my baby on my chest and I’m feeling nothing, whilst my husband was besotted with her. He was so overwhelmed with joy and I didn’t have that. I wasn’t feeling how I should.” Sara Gerritsma

woraput

Bearing the shame of this illness can prevent new parents like Gerritsma from seeking help early and can leave them suffering in silence for longer.

Read the full article here and learn more about the curent Australian 

 

 

Posted on November 16, 2016, in Update. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

